Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

S.1, E.2: From Morning to Mourning: Unveiling Morning Poetry of June 22nd

Tess reads the poetry of June 22nd. Morning Poems #27 and #320 en queue. Thank you to Shelli Owens for being Muse Number 1 to my MorningPoems collection. Muah!


Editor’s note
The audio tracks don’t often match the final published edits. The poet hereby reserves the right to continuously edit their work—enjoy the randomness, unevenness, quirks, and imperfections.


White cup of coffee in a microwave oven. Photo taken by poet/author, Tess McCarthy.
“Coffee in Microwave,” by Tess McCarthy, c. 2024

MorningPoem No. 27: Oh No, It's a Monday Poem

Another Monday!? Oh no!
Wasn't it only Wednesday?
How'd this happen?
Wasn't I harping about being real
in the here and now on Wednesday?

And my coffee ritual and poetry?
This Monday, I'm not goofing around by
heating up coffee
ten times
because I should have drunk it
when it was hot.

It's cool, cold/cloudy outside
but my Monday is not--it's hot
fresh out of the depths of
some semi-soiled microwave of my life.

Monday "dings"
and it's the perfect temperature
so I refocus
and sip life.
_
June 22, 2014


The poet's mother in repose, and the photo is entitled, "Mom in Repose," it features a very old, wrinkly woman with gray, thin hair in a meditative posture. She has a slight smile on her face. The picture is very warm. This is a picture of the author's mother when she was getting out of the hospital in Manila in 2014.
“Mother in Repose” by Tess McCarthy, c. 2014 / Metro Manila Hospital

MorningPoem No. 320: That Was Then, This Is Now

It's not so hard to believe
that my mother
(the same age I am now)
had a "second life" with us, younger kids
she could have stopped 
with my older brothers
but then we wouldn't have a sister,
or a me,
or an adorable little brother.

Could I accomplish that same feat 
by raising a family
(young babies) in my middle age.

My mother didn't tell us 
she was "too" old to have children,
for she blended in 
with the other mothers in age and religion,
no one knew how old she was 
or what number 
on the bottle of her hair dye was.

And I didn't know my mom's age either:
Because I thought she was the norm.
Her skin looked as fresh as dairy cream 
and brown as caramel candy.

For all I knew, she was this product 
that didn't expire
(not like Twinkies, no) 
but more like honey
—which never spoils. 

It wasn't until I was in my 20s
that I realized my mom 
was markedly older than my friend’s moms. 

She looked and acted young for so long, 
I'd joked her secret was sleeping in Tupperware.

Underneath appearances, I realized 
I had limited time with her on earth. 

Selfishly, I prayed to have her until a hundred, 
but prayers are only prayers
they are answered, of course,
but not always fulfilled.

Because if all sorts of prayers were answered, 
then we'd have what we wanted,
but not necessarily what we needed,
and, for me, 
I needed a higher answer to my wishes, 
because that was then, this is now 
a definite lesson:

Cherish your mother for as long as you have her, 
because like refrigerated cream,
she expires, too.
_
June 22, 2015

Hey, I do this out of love—here’s your call to action:
🫱 - Share
🤑 - Subscribe
💬 - Leave a (NICE) Comment
♥️ - Love This
👌 - Tell Me I’m O.K.

Substack Isn’t Hawkstack
I don’t like hawking paid content. Unless you want a subscription, I only want this poetry to be free. Think of any subscription as alms to people like me who want to connect, help you somehow, and make your life cozy.  But if you want a paid subscription, let me at least make you a T-shirt, okay? 

0 Comments
MorningPoems
MorningPoems Podcast
MorningPoems is the poetry series McCarthy created on Facebook and Instagram.
Tess McCarthy is the creator of Them Cats and is also the editor-in-chief of VISUAL LIQUID, a publication focused on feminist lifestyle, poetry, art, and photography that showcase the work of the world’s most creative outliers.